Thursday, April 26, 2007

Bottle Rocket (1996)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Wes Anderson's first feature film bottle rocket is also the screen debut of Owen & Luke Wilson. Co-written by owen wilson with Anderson it focuses on 3 aimless young men who attempt to take a life of crime with no apperent reason rather than to make their lives more interesting.

First off, i love this film. It wasn't the first Anderson film i saw, that was The Royal Tenenbaums, but in many ways, it could be my favourite. Ok this changes a lot, but Bottle Rocket has a certain "care free" feel to it , heartfelt and fun. Not as quirky as some of his later films, in many ways, this may be his most mainstream. More accessible fan his follow up movie, Rushmore, it just generally feels lighter than his other works and benefits for it. It also has a (IMO) career performances by both Wilson brothers. Whether it's Owen's portrayal of ever aspiring and hopeful Dignan or Luke's subtle performance as Anthony. Because it was co-written by Owen , that really transfers on screen in his performance, for a debut one, its top notch. You really get feel he has lived with this character.

The romantic subplot of Anthony & hotel cleaner, Inez, is well done and at times pretty hearfelt. It gives the film a solid narrative thread in which to explore the characters further and provides a little deeper context to what was untill then a pretty narrative-less film. Though it sometimes gives into mainstream narrative conventions, especially in the romantic story, you still get the quirky style you came to expect.

Martin Scorsese in a magazine interview stated Bottle Rocket to be in his top 10 of the 90s and in relation to Anderson called him "the next Scorsese". so how can you argue with such praise?? well i'm not going to, seriously, i have no issues with this film, its no.2 in my fave 90s movies . it's quirky, funny, hearfelt, brilliantly shot, as fantastic performances, see it.

Wednesday, April 18, 2007

Sunshine (2007)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

From the director of Trainspotting & 28 Days later comes this tale of 8 astronauts who are sent to re-ignite the dying sun 50 years into the future. While on this mission they get a distress call from the previous ship that failed the mission and has not been heard from for 7yrs. They decide to answer the call and in doing so create many problems for themselves.

You can tell Boyle is calling on sci-fi classics such as Alien & 2001 with this film. Though maybe not as subtle as those films, Sunshine still manages to keep the tension. In fact some of best tention in sunshine comes from the characters interaction with eachother as times slowly become more desperate. A scene in which they realise their oxygen level is running low and they have to decide who to sacrifice to save the rest of the team (and the world) is very well done and tense moment. The film is visually stunning to watch. Not only through the theme and subject matter can you tell they borrowed from alien & 2001 but in sets too. Ranging from the dull corridors of alien or the clean white clinical style rooms of 2001.

Though i do have some issues with it. There is a subplot of the captain of the old ship, who has since been burned beyond recognition. He became addicted to the observation deck in which you can view the sun at full heat. Anyway it goes into almost freddy krueger nightmare on elm street film where he is chasing crew around the ship. Though it does create some good moments, it also comes off as un-needed and over the top. The film also feels at times a little repetative its like "oh man glad we survived that..but we've got another problem" and this theory is repeated throughout. Oh and on a trivial note, why even have an observation deck where it allows you to view sun at full power?? surely thats not safe idea, bad ship design i say!

all in all, even with the above being said, this become very minor points with what is a thrilling, great looking, well acted, tense sci-fi film with wellcomed throwbacks. Very much recommended.

Friday, April 13, 2007

The Weather Man (2005)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Being fan of quirky films, when first heard of this back in 2005 i really wanted to see it and finally in 2007 i got chance too, and well....meh.

Tells story of Weather man David Spritz (Nicolas Cage) who has split from his wife who now lives with their two children. He also has a dying father (Michael Caine) and is hated by the public because of his well paid easy job.

Ok well it sure is quirky and well directed. The general mise-en-scene and all that is fine, what i didn't like was the tone and message it was bringing across. Nicolas Cage is pretty dull in terms of line delivery and persona at the best of times. However having him play a character always down on himself, always complaining and when take into account its played by major movie star who i'm sure has little to complain about, this eventually begins to annoy. In the end i just didn't really care what happened to his character. Though it's not all bad, the story with his wife and scenes between them are funny, a scene where we hear his thoughts is also good, and the respective stories in relation to his kids are also well done. Michael Caine also pulls in a very good performance, and a pretty good american accent.

On another bad note though, i feel at times it gets too bogged down with symbolism and because of this sometimes comes off a bit like "We're so clever."

All in all, it does have redeeming qaulties. The family stuff is very funny and well played out. at its core its a heartfelt movie about family but you have to sit through Cage feeling sorry for himself with no real narrative resolution. It's almost as if they said "we're making a quirky movie, heres a check list of things to include" and this ticks every box and comes off as at times as pretentious. Though i'm a fan of Wes Anderson movies, which also get accused of being pretentious, so maybe Weather man deserves a rewatch lol

Blades Of Glory (2007)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Blades of Glory is the story of two rival Olympic ice skaters who are stripped of their gold medals after an on ice brawl and both banned from men's single competition permanently. However they find a loophole in the system that will allow them to compete as doubles, making first ever all male figure skating team.

Being a huge Will Ferrell fan i was looking forward to this, the previews were good, and it was on my top to see list for 2007. Though between this i had seen School for Scoundrels , which was okay but overall falls short. Not even a minor role by Sarah silverman (who i do like) was enough to help the movie. So after seeing this film , which also starred blades of glory star Jon Heder, i was growing ever worried about Blades of Glory. After seeing the film, i asked myself...was the hell was i worred!?

Honestly, i can't remember last time i laughed so much. I've made comments in the past about ferrell and fact he does the same type of movie. Guy at top of profession ends up at bottom of it and has to work way back up, and yes, its the same again. However Ferrell is so good at doing that arrogant, stupid guy thing that his repetition of roles is totally forgivable. Also, though i did enjoy Talladega Nights, i found some issues with it and is probably my least fave ferrell movie (but still very good) here he is back on more achorman territory in terms of character mannerisms. Jon Heder also does his dorky guy , slightly effeminate character , which though not as engaging as Ferrell is still a wellcomed contrast.

What i think confirmed for me it was a success was fact i could pick up to 8 scenes that were (for me anyway) laugh out loud and i want to revisit. Some include Ferrel's character making drunk phone calls to heder's character after a fall out including him drunkedly singing Aerosmith's "Don't wanna miss a thing" down the phone. A scene where Ferrell turns up drunk at his new job as a kids ice show performer (ok its not all ferrell drunk) oh the chase scene and the head falling scene.

All in all, Blades of glory is well worth a watch for any Ferrell fan. Sure its full of cliches and narrative conventions of this genre but hell, with the performances, takes it a cut above the rest. IMO better than Taladega Nights, as good as Anchorman. In fact i'm not fully focused on this review as i'm too busy laughing at the scenes as i remember them!

Wednesday, April 11, 2007

From Dusk Till Dawn (1996)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

From Dusk Till Dawn was written by Quentin Tarantino with Robert Rodriguez at the director's chair. It tells story of Two criminals and the hostages they take finding refuge in an area and later a building full of vampires, thats right, vampires.

Tarantino is a self confessed film buff and his references can be seen throughout his films. whether is the tribute to "Bande à part " with Travolta & Uma's dance in pulp fiction or the yellow jump suit in Kill Bill designed from one wore by bruce lee., he makes it clear he is borrowing from other films. With Dusk Till Dawn what we get is a tribute to the almost B-movie style of movies that were popularised in 1950s. The b movie saw a style that was full of generic conventions, popular with teens because of it's special effects and easy to understand narrative plot. They were quick, cheap escapism in it's finest form.

From Dusk till dawn takes while to buy into , you have to expect this is no epic, its fun experience thats not trying to be anything else. The acting is so so throughout but its somehow okgiven the context of the film. Clooney actually works quite well in the role and tarantino does a pretty good job in his acting role. There's still the sharp witted dialogue you expect from a tarantino film, especially in the road trip to the vampire town or anything before the vampires. It does play a little to much like "good crime movie, interesting...whoa! vampires!??" it comes as a shock, but , given the intent it doesn't take too much away from the previous stuff.

All in all, I enjoyed watching it. it had tarantino's trademark all over it. It has it flaws (acting, some of the plot) but in its defense, it was based on b-movies and grindhouse style films, and thats what they were like, so it could come down to context rather than anything esle. See it, it's a fun movie that cult movie fans will enjoy.

Saturday, April 07, 2007

La Haine (1995)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I'll have totake down my top films of the 90s as i forgot to add this masterpiece. Having had to study it for film studies in relation to world cinema , i got hands on a copy and watched it again. i have since seen it 3 times and i have yet to be bored by it.

It's set in a struggling estate in the slums of france and we follow the story of said, Vinz & Hubert. Being under heavy control by the local police , many rebelious memebers of the community often riot. After one riot, a friend of Said, Abdel is hospitalised due to an attack by a police officer. After finding a gun, vinz vows to kill a cop if abdel dies, as an act of revenge.

One of my favourite aspects of this film is how we are not forced a main character. Vinz is probably commercially pushed as our protagonist but within the narrative there could be many arguments for each. The story begins and ends on said opening and closing his eyes, do we see it from his view? Hurbet narrates and is the moral conscience of the film, so is he our main man? either way, each character is so rich and deep in diffeent emotional levels it doesn't matter, they are all appealing.

The use of black and white gives it a more raw and real feel and adds to the feeling of pending chaos. Along with the clock titles and soundtrack. Actuality footage of Riots and reports add to this effect. What we also see here is something very interesting, that is a mix of cultures. At its heart its a very french film, but you can see a blending of cultures especially in a scene where N.W.A's "Fuck the police" is mixed with a high cultured french tune, as this song beems out to the estate. Other aspects include american film culture, such as references to Taxi Driver & Raging Bull. It also challenges expectations you may have of a french movie by being a very gritty film, compared to the cafe dwelling, cigar smoking french films we come to expect.

All in all, please see this film if what you want is a well excuted character study, great presentation and well... a damn good film. One of best of world cinema, and one of films of the 90s

Friday, March 30, 2007

High Fidelity (2000)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

High Fidelity ticks so many boxes for me, all factors that if said to me i'm like "wheres the movie being shown, i need to see it!?" Some of which include : John Cusack (who i maintain is in my top5 actors list), Jack Black, relationship comedy, about music, told through narration or in a quirky fashion, told through (at times) a timeline, a could go on and on. Based on a novel by Nick Hornby, it tells story of Rob, who owns a music/record store and is compiling (among many other lists) a top5 breakups list, which includes the one he is currently part of, we follow his progress.

I want to start off with jack black, many have said it and i'm not one to argue, though i'm a huge Cusack fan, i have to give this one to jack black, he truely steals the show in his role. Not seen often, but when he is, he scene steals with the best of them, monday morning tape scene being one of funniest scenes i have seen. John Cusack does (very well) his self pitying act as many films has seen him do. Cusack is in many ways reminiscent of Woody Allen in his hay day. Especially when Cusack talks to the camera, breaking the 4th wall, enaging the audience. Much the style made popular by Allen in films such as Annie Hall. Though mostly subtle, certain scenes do break into all out comedy ("fight with Ian 'Ray' ).

An interesting issue also comes in case of director Stephen Frears. He has the ability to make films of totally oppisite genres and make them truely beleiveable. Whether it's "The Grifters" a crime/drama, The Queen a bio film, Dirty Pretty Things a thriller or a subtle comedy in case of this film, each genre is totally emersed in its subject. Which is tough to pull off for a director who decides to make many different types, rather than sticking to one and becomming a safe almost auteur as some choose to do.

What we have here with high fidelity is a great study of relationships, their effect on us and our character, how it can effect our later lives.

All in all, i have no real complaints. so how do i finish? well in the theme of the movie and our protagonist, i can olny think of one way..right?

Top 5 reasons to watch High Fidelity

1. John Cusack
2. Jack Black
3. Frears
4. Soundtrack
5. Cus i said so.

Little Miss Sunshine (2006)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

The word of mouth movie of 2006. It seemed everyone who saw it fell in love with it. They'd say "have you seen it yet??" "you need to see this film i saw last night" and such to that affect. So after hearing so much praise for it, i decided, "hell, now i need to see it".

It follows the story of Olive who is shortlisted for Little Miss Sunshine beauty contest. At first it appears her family can't take her because of the money it would cost to make a trip to where the place is being held. oh and the family, well heres a set of characters. There's Olive's dad Richard, who is a motivational speaker. His wife Sheryl, and her brother who was commited to hospital after trying to take his own life, Frank. The reason is later revealed that he was a teacher who fell in love with a male student who later broke it off with him and he couldn't take it. Olive's brother Dwayne who takes a vow of silence untill he gets his pilot licence and then thers drug adicted grampa. the family decided to travel to the place in a now trademark of the movie yellow VW bus.

First off i have to praise Steve Carel as Frank, wow. he plays this conflicted, confused character to perfection. The character point of his sexuality was never over played and played with a harsh realism. It makes it almost impossible to think that he was once brick the weather guy in anchorman, this performance is utterly convincing and heartfelt. Along with Carell my second fave performance was from Paul Dano as Dwayne. Though a majority of the film he plays silent, the moment he brakes this silence (for a reason i won't reveal because best if you go in fresh) is IMO the finest scene in the movie and i was hooked to the screen, brilliantly done. Also seeing the different dynamics play play out on screen is great, watching different hybolic characters act a scene together is great.

On negative side, it does take some strange twists. one scene (and you'll notice it straight away) it takes this unneeded and out of place turn into a broad almost slapstick comedy. It works in context of family sticking together, but suddenly feels like a caper/ slapstick which is huge contrast to the previously subtle comedy. Another issue that other people have brought up that it kind of goes easy on the subject matter. though it touches on the issue it never goes any deeper and kind of scares off. The subject is that of media influence and the importance of todays society has put on appearance and looks. It sort of deals with it but in the end bows out to what is a rather tame finish.

all in all, a heartfelt film, that though great, maybe isn't quite what people say it is. it takes a turn for worse with one or two scenes, but little miss sunshine makes for a damn good watch and one of better movies of 2006.

Thursday, March 29, 2007

Fargo (1996)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

In my opinon the Coen brothers are one of the most talented and underrated people working in film today. All you have to do is look at their work and realise how much talent they have. They are able to switch between comedy (Raising Arizona / Big Lebowski) to crime dramas (The Man Who Wasn't There). Fargo, released in 1996 is closer to some of their earlier work, such as Blood Simple. A more violent work, almost horror film was the first by coen bros and fargo seems like they are revisiting that area.

Fargo tells story of Jerry Lundegaard , is experiencing fiancial trouble and in a panic comes up with an unusual plan to hire someone capture his wife and demand money of his wife's wealthy father. He hires Carl Showalter (Steve Buscemi) & Gaear Grimsrud (Peter Stormare). Along with this we also follow the character of Marge Gunderson (Frances McDormand), a cheif who is assigned to the case.

it's an unusual story tackled in a quirky manner and takes quite alot to stick with. However, what coen bro movies are so good at doing is mixing genres. So in fargo you have a crime / drama / thriller / comedy all in one. Many non comedy movies that attempt comedy moments, the comedy usually falls short, cringe worthy and out of place. With fargo it never does, i think its mainly done by the charisma and effort but in by the actors. Steve Buscemi is fantastic as is peter stormare. William H macy does his quiet normal guy thing put in weird situations pretty well, but he always seems to play same type of charatcers. The story of Marge Gunderson's character provides a much needed counter story to the main story. her character is more down to earth and provides a real balence to the more hyberbolic aspects to the film. A lot of the more subtle comedy comes from her character, and the role is brilliantly acted.

Fargo is a film full of rich characters, an interesting and engaging story. One other issue i want to bring up is the tone of fargo. It uses very strong genre conventions. It has an almost film noir feel, guy captures someone, hired hitmen, a cheif on his case all conventions much to feel of a traditional film you would expect to see in 1940s. However, it doesn't match entirely. The characters aren't clear black and white, good and bad. It dosen't use any proppian narratives. We are meant to dislike the bad guys, but in this case they are funny and audience engaging. William H macy's character, the main character, is a confused charatcer and is not easy to read. all of this being said, Fargo is a 90s classic, though not my fave Coen bros movie (big lebowski being my fave) this is still a great film that i fully recommend.

(NOTE : when writting this review, its been ages since i've seen fargo, so excuse if some of my information is incorrect)