Thursday, April 26, 2007

Bottle Rocket (1996)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Wes Anderson's first feature film bottle rocket is also the screen debut of Owen & Luke Wilson. Co-written by owen wilson with Anderson it focuses on 3 aimless young men who attempt to take a life of crime with no apperent reason rather than to make their lives more interesting.

First off, i love this film. It wasn't the first Anderson film i saw, that was The Royal Tenenbaums, but in many ways, it could be my favourite. Ok this changes a lot, but Bottle Rocket has a certain "care free" feel to it , heartfelt and fun. Not as quirky as some of his later films, in many ways, this may be his most mainstream. More accessible fan his follow up movie, Rushmore, it just generally feels lighter than his other works and benefits for it. It also has a (IMO) career performances by both Wilson brothers. Whether it's Owen's portrayal of ever aspiring and hopeful Dignan or Luke's subtle performance as Anthony. Because it was co-written by Owen , that really transfers on screen in his performance, for a debut one, its top notch. You really get feel he has lived with this character.

The romantic subplot of Anthony & hotel cleaner, Inez, is well done and at times pretty hearfelt. It gives the film a solid narrative thread in which to explore the characters further and provides a little deeper context to what was untill then a pretty narrative-less film. Though it sometimes gives into mainstream narrative conventions, especially in the romantic story, you still get the quirky style you came to expect.

Martin Scorsese in a magazine interview stated Bottle Rocket to be in his top 10 of the 90s and in relation to Anderson called him "the next Scorsese". so how can you argue with such praise?? well i'm not going to, seriously, i have no issues with this film, its no.2 in my fave 90s movies . it's quirky, funny, hearfelt, brilliantly shot, as fantastic performances, see it.

Wednesday, April 18, 2007

Sunshine (2007)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

From the director of Trainspotting & 28 Days later comes this tale of 8 astronauts who are sent to re-ignite the dying sun 50 years into the future. While on this mission they get a distress call from the previous ship that failed the mission and has not been heard from for 7yrs. They decide to answer the call and in doing so create many problems for themselves.

You can tell Boyle is calling on sci-fi classics such as Alien & 2001 with this film. Though maybe not as subtle as those films, Sunshine still manages to keep the tension. In fact some of best tention in sunshine comes from the characters interaction with eachother as times slowly become more desperate. A scene in which they realise their oxygen level is running low and they have to decide who to sacrifice to save the rest of the team (and the world) is very well done and tense moment. The film is visually stunning to watch. Not only through the theme and subject matter can you tell they borrowed from alien & 2001 but in sets too. Ranging from the dull corridors of alien or the clean white clinical style rooms of 2001.

Though i do have some issues with it. There is a subplot of the captain of the old ship, who has since been burned beyond recognition. He became addicted to the observation deck in which you can view the sun at full heat. Anyway it goes into almost freddy krueger nightmare on elm street film where he is chasing crew around the ship. Though it does create some good moments, it also comes off as un-needed and over the top. The film also feels at times a little repetative its like "oh man glad we survived that..but we've got another problem" and this theory is repeated throughout. Oh and on a trivial note, why even have an observation deck where it allows you to view sun at full power?? surely thats not safe idea, bad ship design i say!

all in all, even with the above being said, this become very minor points with what is a thrilling, great looking, well acted, tense sci-fi film with wellcomed throwbacks. Very much recommended.

Friday, April 13, 2007

The Weather Man (2005)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Being fan of quirky films, when first heard of this back in 2005 i really wanted to see it and finally in 2007 i got chance too, and well....meh.

Tells story of Weather man David Spritz (Nicolas Cage) who has split from his wife who now lives with their two children. He also has a dying father (Michael Caine) and is hated by the public because of his well paid easy job.

Ok well it sure is quirky and well directed. The general mise-en-scene and all that is fine, what i didn't like was the tone and message it was bringing across. Nicolas Cage is pretty dull in terms of line delivery and persona at the best of times. However having him play a character always down on himself, always complaining and when take into account its played by major movie star who i'm sure has little to complain about, this eventually begins to annoy. In the end i just didn't really care what happened to his character. Though it's not all bad, the story with his wife and scenes between them are funny, a scene where we hear his thoughts is also good, and the respective stories in relation to his kids are also well done. Michael Caine also pulls in a very good performance, and a pretty good american accent.

On another bad note though, i feel at times it gets too bogged down with symbolism and because of this sometimes comes off a bit like "We're so clever."

All in all, it does have redeeming qaulties. The family stuff is very funny and well played out. at its core its a heartfelt movie about family but you have to sit through Cage feeling sorry for himself with no real narrative resolution. It's almost as if they said "we're making a quirky movie, heres a check list of things to include" and this ticks every box and comes off as at times as pretentious. Though i'm a fan of Wes Anderson movies, which also get accused of being pretentious, so maybe Weather man deserves a rewatch lol

Blades Of Glory (2007)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Blades of Glory is the story of two rival Olympic ice skaters who are stripped of their gold medals after an on ice brawl and both banned from men's single competition permanently. However they find a loophole in the system that will allow them to compete as doubles, making first ever all male figure skating team.

Being a huge Will Ferrell fan i was looking forward to this, the previews were good, and it was on my top to see list for 2007. Though between this i had seen School for Scoundrels , which was okay but overall falls short. Not even a minor role by Sarah silverman (who i do like) was enough to help the movie. So after seeing this film , which also starred blades of glory star Jon Heder, i was growing ever worried about Blades of Glory. After seeing the film, i asked myself...was the hell was i worred!?

Honestly, i can't remember last time i laughed so much. I've made comments in the past about ferrell and fact he does the same type of movie. Guy at top of profession ends up at bottom of it and has to work way back up, and yes, its the same again. However Ferrell is so good at doing that arrogant, stupid guy thing that his repetition of roles is totally forgivable. Also, though i did enjoy Talladega Nights, i found some issues with it and is probably my least fave ferrell movie (but still very good) here he is back on more achorman territory in terms of character mannerisms. Jon Heder also does his dorky guy , slightly effeminate character , which though not as engaging as Ferrell is still a wellcomed contrast.

What i think confirmed for me it was a success was fact i could pick up to 8 scenes that were (for me anyway) laugh out loud and i want to revisit. Some include Ferrel's character making drunk phone calls to heder's character after a fall out including him drunkedly singing Aerosmith's "Don't wanna miss a thing" down the phone. A scene where Ferrell turns up drunk at his new job as a kids ice show performer (ok its not all ferrell drunk) oh the chase scene and the head falling scene.

All in all, Blades of glory is well worth a watch for any Ferrell fan. Sure its full of cliches and narrative conventions of this genre but hell, with the performances, takes it a cut above the rest. IMO better than Taladega Nights, as good as Anchorman. In fact i'm not fully focused on this review as i'm too busy laughing at the scenes as i remember them!

Wednesday, April 11, 2007

From Dusk Till Dawn (1996)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

From Dusk Till Dawn was written by Quentin Tarantino with Robert Rodriguez at the director's chair. It tells story of Two criminals and the hostages they take finding refuge in an area and later a building full of vampires, thats right, vampires.

Tarantino is a self confessed film buff and his references can be seen throughout his films. whether is the tribute to "Bande à part " with Travolta & Uma's dance in pulp fiction or the yellow jump suit in Kill Bill designed from one wore by bruce lee., he makes it clear he is borrowing from other films. With Dusk Till Dawn what we get is a tribute to the almost B-movie style of movies that were popularised in 1950s. The b movie saw a style that was full of generic conventions, popular with teens because of it's special effects and easy to understand narrative plot. They were quick, cheap escapism in it's finest form.

From Dusk till dawn takes while to buy into , you have to expect this is no epic, its fun experience thats not trying to be anything else. The acting is so so throughout but its somehow okgiven the context of the film. Clooney actually works quite well in the role and tarantino does a pretty good job in his acting role. There's still the sharp witted dialogue you expect from a tarantino film, especially in the road trip to the vampire town or anything before the vampires. It does play a little to much like "good crime movie, interesting...whoa! vampires!??" it comes as a shock, but , given the intent it doesn't take too much away from the previous stuff.

All in all, I enjoyed watching it. it had tarantino's trademark all over it. It has it flaws (acting, some of the plot) but in its defense, it was based on b-movies and grindhouse style films, and thats what they were like, so it could come down to context rather than anything esle. See it, it's a fun movie that cult movie fans will enjoy.

Saturday, April 07, 2007

La Haine (1995)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I'll have totake down my top films of the 90s as i forgot to add this masterpiece. Having had to study it for film studies in relation to world cinema , i got hands on a copy and watched it again. i have since seen it 3 times and i have yet to be bored by it.

It's set in a struggling estate in the slums of france and we follow the story of said, Vinz & Hubert. Being under heavy control by the local police , many rebelious memebers of the community often riot. After one riot, a friend of Said, Abdel is hospitalised due to an attack by a police officer. After finding a gun, vinz vows to kill a cop if abdel dies, as an act of revenge.

One of my favourite aspects of this film is how we are not forced a main character. Vinz is probably commercially pushed as our protagonist but within the narrative there could be many arguments for each. The story begins and ends on said opening and closing his eyes, do we see it from his view? Hurbet narrates and is the moral conscience of the film, so is he our main man? either way, each character is so rich and deep in diffeent emotional levels it doesn't matter, they are all appealing.

The use of black and white gives it a more raw and real feel and adds to the feeling of pending chaos. Along with the clock titles and soundtrack. Actuality footage of Riots and reports add to this effect. What we also see here is something very interesting, that is a mix of cultures. At its heart its a very french film, but you can see a blending of cultures especially in a scene where N.W.A's "Fuck the police" is mixed with a high cultured french tune, as this song beems out to the estate. Other aspects include american film culture, such as references to Taxi Driver & Raging Bull. It also challenges expectations you may have of a french movie by being a very gritty film, compared to the cafe dwelling, cigar smoking french films we come to expect.

All in all, please see this film if what you want is a well excuted character study, great presentation and well... a damn good film. One of best of world cinema, and one of films of the 90s